Working with Projects

Saving Projects

To save or close a project when the 2D or 3D view is open, click the menu button and choose the corresponding command: Save, Save As or Close.

You can also use the Gallery to save or close the current project. To do this, right-click on a preview in the Current Project section and choose a command from the context menu.

The Save Supplied Content in Project option in the Project section of the Settings panel lets you choose whether to save actual objects from the standard library in your project file, or save only links to these objects in the library. Whatever you choose, it will not affect the way you work with the project. Saving objects in the project guarantees that it will not be dependent on the version of the program (the contents of the library may change by a major update). On the other hand, projects that store only links to objects can take less disk space. Modified and imported objects used in the project will always be saved in the project.

If you plan to view the project on a computer where Live Home 3D is not installed, export your project as graphic files.

Saving Templates

A template is a project saved in a dedicated folder. You can use a template as the basis for new projects. To access templates, you should use the Custom Templates category in the Gallery.

To save a currently open project as a template, open the Current Project category of the Gallery, right-click on the project's preview and select the Save as Template command.

Once you have saved a custom template, the program doesn't retain the link between the open project and the template. To update the template after modification, you should use the Save as Template command again.